top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Margarita Menpin

Wellness from Within: Insights from My Holistic Wellness Plan

Updated: Jun 6

To access the following content of the Holistic Wellness plan, kindly access the link below:


 


At the beginning of the semester, we were tasked with creating a holistic wellness plan based on the "Wheel of Wellness" theoretical model by Whitney and Witmer. Using this model, I developed my own wellness wheel (see Figure 1), focusing on four of the eight dimensions: Physical, Emotional, Occupational, and Financial. I believe that by concentrating on these dimensions, I can achieve personal harmony aligned with my priorities. Below are my reflections on how I rate my progress in each dimension and thoughts on how I can continue to improve in these areas.

PHYSICAL DIMENSION

Exercise: ★★★☆☆

When it comes to exercising, I'd give myself a score of 3 out of 5, which suggests "maintaining current weight, moderate energy levels." While I've explored various methods to reach my target weight of 50 kgs, I've encountered some inconsistencies in my routine. There were times when I couldn't exercise for two consecutive weeks, mainly due to the demanding nature of my academic responsibilities as the semester nears to its end. While it might sound like an excuse, it's a reality I've faced; my body needed some rest. Despite these challenges, I've managed to maintain my current weight at 52 kgs and sustain moderate energy levels. Although I've noticed improvements in my energy levels due to the dietary changes I've made, I believe there's still room for improvement if I can maintain a consistent exercise routine. With the semester ending soon, I'm optimistic about dedicating more time to improving this habit and achieving my fitness goals. Doing so will not only help me achieve my fitness goals, but also enhance my overall productivity as well as contribute to better mood and well-being in the long run.


Nutrition: ★★★★☆


In terms of nutrition, I'd rate myself a 4 out of 5, indicating "rarely sick, generally positive mood." Since adopting a balanced diet and switching to a low-carbohydrate approach, I've noticed significant changes in my mood and energy levels. Mornings feel a bit lighter, with sustained energy throughout the day. However, I still get tired during long work hours when the night comes. I rarely get sick, such as colds or coughs. However, I still see room for improvement in this aspect. There are times when I still get headaches, probably from fatigue and lack of rest. I also find myself still craving sweets and high-caffeine drinks like coffee and chocolates at times. So, I believe there's still potential for me to enhance my nutrition results through various means. For instance, I'm aware that monitoring my caffeine intake is important. While it's alright to enjoy in coffee and chocolates occasionally, I need to be mindful of overdoing it, as excessive caffeine can disrupt my sleep and even lead to headaches. Another beneficial practice would be paying attention to how different foods affect me. If I notice certain foods consistently triggering headaches or cravings, I must consider my consumption of those items and perhaps explore healthier alternatives. Ultimately, ensuring adequate hydration throughout the day is essential. Dehydration can often manifest as headaches, so maintaining proper hydration levels can effectively help in alleviating this issue.

EMOTIONAL DIMENSION


Stress Management: ★★★☆☆


With respect to Stress Management, I'd assess myself with a score of 3 out of 5 that indicates "stable mental health, moderate activity levels, and balanced emotions." Despite facing many challenges over the past few months, I've managed to maintain stable mental health by finding ways to physiologically self-soothe. I've also been engaging in various activities to improve my skills and gain knowledge relevant to my future career. I've stayed active with organizational work while juggling my academic responsibilities. However, my emotions have been more fluctuating than balanced. With numerous physical and emotional stressors in my life, I do my best to calm myself, but sometimes I becomes difficult to regulate my emotions and I need an outlet to pour them usually by crying. Given this, I realize I need to work on incorporating stress management techniques into my routine to better handle these challenges and achieve my goals. I can start by practicing self-compassion and reminding myself that it's okay to make mistakes or feel overwhelmed sometimes. Treating myself with kindness and understanding, just as I would a friend facing similar challenges, can help alleviate some of the pressure I put on myself. Ultimately, maybe I should not hesitate to converse more with my family or seek help through a therapist about my feelings or difficulties. Maybe sharing my experiences and getting support can make a big difference in managing stress.


Mindfulness: ★★★☆☆


With regards to Mindfulness, I'd grade myself the score of 3 out of 5, which demonstrates that "moderate emotional regulation, and average decision-making skills." There are days when I handle challenges in my responsibilities quite well, keeping my emotions in check. But then, there are those tough days where I feel overwhelmed and frustrated, and my stress levels soar. In those moments, I struggle to control my emotions, often feeling a heavy weight in my chest or even breaking down in tears. As a result, making decisions, especially during crucial times, becomes a bit of a challenge. I find myself second-guessing my choices and questioning my ability to navigate through them successfully. Despite these struggles, I believe the score reflects where I currently stand and serves as motivation to improve in this area. Aside from having self-dates to reflect on my life and reading self-help books, I can keep practicing my gratitude journaling. This will help me appreciate even the smallest, good things I usually overlook. By focusing on what I'm thankful for, I can find the positive side even in the darkest situations. I can try a digital detox, taking regular breaks from digital devices to reconnect with the present moment. During these breaks, I can spend more time outdoors with family and friends or return to drawing as a way to relax and free my mind. Speaking of drawing, I believe that engaging in creative activities like drawing, painting, or playing an instrument. These can help me express myself and stay in the moment.

OCCUPATIONAL DIMENSION


Career Development: ★★★★☆


Under the Career Development aspect, I give myself a score of 4 out of 5, which states that, "Actively seeks opportunities, build networks, and gain relevant experience demonstrating commitment to professional growth and development." I've joined several events and taken on organizing roles, such as being a Partnership Member for APSy Week 2024 under the External Committee, a Community Development Member representing AIESEC in UP Clark for the upcoming 12 Hour Race in Clark, Pampanga, and the Press Committee Co-Head for our batch-organized webinar "SCALE-UP: A Roundtable Discussion on the Best Practices for Employee Engagement." These experiences have enhanced my skills and developed my leadership abilities, preparing me for my future career goals. Additionally, I've built important connections with different companies, which led to securing my Host Training Establishment for my practicum internship. However, I didn't give myself a perfect score because I believe I have yet to fully contribute my skills and expertise in my chosen field—I'm still working towards that goal. I believe that finding a mentor in my chosen field, who can provide guidance, support, and valuable insights, along with periodically assessing my career goals and progress, can help me achieve my professional goals and keep challenging myself.


Work-Life Balance: ★★★★☆


In terms of Work-Life Balance, I would rate myself a 4 out of 5, indicating that I was able to "Successfully balance between academic/work commitments and personal life, regularly incorporating self-care activities and making time for social interactions and hobbies." I usually achieve this balance by ensuring that at least once a week, I take a break from the stress of my academic and organizational responsibilities. I spend this time bonding with my family, friends, and my partner. Occasionally, I also take myself on self-dates while handling urgent responsibilities. After completing some of my tasks, I take breaks by sleeping, eating comfort food, or watching my current favorite drama or series. However, I believe there's still room for improvement because there are times when I say no to family gatherings because I have too much on my plate, and the tasks are mostly urgent. I hope to change this and be more present with my family by practice sticking to my boundaries to make sure I'm not overworking or neglecting personal time. Keeping my workspace organized can also help improve my focus. Additionally, I can make time to try new hobbies like cooking or baking, which I've been really interested in lately.

FINANCIAL DIMENSION


Savings: ★★★☆


With regards to Savings, I will give myself a grade of 4 out of 5, indicating that I "Have some savings able to handle minor emergencies." When I started my plan in this dimension, I set a goal to save PHP 3,000 for my emergency fund. Fortunately, I reached this amount after two months of saving from my school allowance. Although I’ve realized that this amount isn’t enough for a proper emergency fund, motivating me to save more from my school allowance during the few remaining face-to-face classes we have this semester. Furthermore, with my internship coming up, I plan on saving part of my allowance for my emergency fund. This will also help cover various needs such as basic necessities, self-care items, and any essentials for my internship preparation.


Budgeting: ★★★★☆


Under the aspect of Budgeting, I rate myself a 4 out of 5, stating that I have "Good control over expenses, achieved the target savings." Based on my financial tracker, I've maintained good control over my expenses, only surpassing my spending limit of PHP 1,000 once, in May, with a total of PHP 1,108. To continue improving my spending habits, I plan to set a monthly savings goal of PHP 1,500 to increase my savings and reduce my expenditures. I also need to avoid impulse buying by waiting three days before purchasing an item I want. This waiting period will help me determine if I genuinely need the product or if it was just an impulsive desire. Lastly, I should reduce the number of times I visit coffee shops each month. Making my drinks at home is often cheaper and healthier.



This holistic wellness plan has significantly contributed to my personal growth over the past few months. By focusing on the Physical, Emotional, Occupational, and Financial dimensions, I’ve gained valuable insights into my strengths and areas for improvement. I’ve managed to maintain stable mental health, improve my nutritional habits, and make improvements in my career development. I've also found a better work-life balance and started saving for my emergency fund.


However, this journey has highlighted that there's always room for improvement. I need to incorporate more consistent exercise, better stress management techniques, and more mindful spending habits. Recognizing these areas has motivated me to keep pushing forward and challenging myself.


As a promise to my future self, I will continue my efforts in maintaining and enhancing these wellness dimensions. I'll ensure to remain committed to practicing self-compassion, setting and achieving savings goals, and finding balance in my academic, professional, and personal life. Moving forward, I will also make sure to pay attention to all eight dimensions of wellness, not just the four I’ve focused on so far to make sure that all my wellness aspects are taken care of. By doing so, I aim to achieve personal harmony and continue growing into the best version of myself.

2 views
Website Logo (1).png

Transforming your Being from Within

Subscribe here and get the latest travel tips  and my insider secrets!

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by On the Trail. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page